Home

Cultivar Lists

Links

 

 

HOME FRUIT GROWING: Links

 

The following were current as of October 2016, and are listed for informational and educational  purposes only.. This list is not meant to discriminate against those sites not mentioned nor endorse those mentioned.  If a website doesn’t work, try a search on the business name.  Often nurseries are excellent sources of information in addition to plants. There are many other sources such as complete garden stores; those below mainly specialize in or have a very large selection of fruit.  Don’t forget to check your own local nurseries. This is an expanded and updated list, with more than were able to be included in the printed book the Fruit Gardener's Bible, due to space limitations.

 

General fruit resources | Regional fruit resources | General fruit sources | Specific fruit focus | Supplies

 

General fruit internet resources

Chilling hours-- https://raintreenursery.com/chill_hours (general national map, discussion)

Fruitsinfo.com— http://www.fruitsinfo.com/

Home Orchard Society-- http://www.homeorchardsociety.org/

Hardiness zone map (USDA)-- http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb/

Food Preservation (Purdue Univ.)-- https://www.purdue.edu/dffs/localfood/family/food-preservation/ (general, links to specific fruits) 

Organic and Sustainable Fruit Production (ATTRA)-- https://attra.ncat.org/horticultural/#Fruits (links to articles, production focus, much on pests applies to home growing)

Pacific Groves-- http://www.pacificgroves.com/ (wholesale nursery but good cultivar descriptions)

 

Regional fruit internet resources

Extension services, a complete listing-- https://nifa.usda.gov/partners-and-extension-map?state=All&type=Extension

Northeast—Cornell University-- http://www.fruit.cornell.edu/ (commercial focus)
Northeast--Cornell University-- https://ecommons.cornell.edu/handle/1813/67  (Guide to Growing Fruit at Home)
Northeast--UMass-- http://ag.umass.edu/fruit/ne-small-fruit-management-guide  (commercial focus, Small Fruit Management Guide)

Midwest—Purdue University-- https://www2.ag.purdue.edu/hla/Hort/Documents/mw_Home%20Fruit_pg_B940.pdf
Midwest--Minnesota-- https://extension.umn.edu/find-plants/fruit  (links to many publications)
Midwest--Michigan-- https://www.canr.msu.edu/backyard_fruit/ 

Mid-Atlantic—Penn State University-- http://ssfruit.cas.psu.edu (sample online of publication to buy)
Mid-Atlantic—Maryland Grapes and Fruits-- http://extension.umd.edu/smallfruit  (commercial focus)
Mid-Atlantic--Maryland, Fruits-- https://extension.umd.edu/hgic/plants/fruits  (small and tree)
South—Clemson (SC)-- https://hgic.clemson.edu/   (small and tree fruits and nuts, factsheets)

South--Arkansas--  https://www.uaex.edu/yard-garden/fruits-nuts/  (home garden fruits and nuts)
Texas-- https://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/extension/fruitgarden/fruitvariety.html (Fruit Gardening in Texas, links to varieties)

West—Oregon State University-- https://catalog.extension.oregonstate.edu/topic/gardening/fruits-and-nuts

California—University of California-- http://fruitsandnuts.ucdavis.edu/ (Fruits and Nuts Research and Information Center, statewide list of chilling hours)
Washington-- http://treefruit.wsu.edu/backyard-fruit-trees/  (Wash. State Univ., tree fruits)

back to top

 

General fruit sources

Many of these carry a wide selection of berries, trees, and minor fruits.

 

Adams County Nursery (PA, 717-677-8105)-- http://www.acnursery.com/ (fruit trees)

Bay Laurel Nursery (CA, 805-466-3406)-- http://www.baylaurelnursery.com/

Bottoms Nursery (GA, 770-884-5661)-- http://www.bottomsnursery.com (muscadines specialty)

Burgess Seed and Plant Co. (IL)-- http://www.eburgess.com

Burnt Ridge Nursery (WA, 360-985-0882)-- http://www.burntridgenursery.com

Chestnut Hill Tree Farm (FL, 386-462-2820)-- http://www.chestnuthilltreefarm.com (including low chill fruits, chestnuts)

Cummins Nursery (NY, 607-227-6147)-- http://www.cumminsnursery.com (fruit trees, unusual, custom grafting)

Daisy Farms (MI)-- http://www.daisyfarms.net (small fruits)

Edible Landscaping (VA, 800-524-4156)-- http://www.ediblelandscaping.com (many unusual)

England’s Orchard and Nursery (KY, 606-965-2228)-- http://www.nuttrees.net/ (fruit, nut trees)
Fast-Growing-Trees (SC)-- https://www.fast-growing-trees.com/blog/buying-guides-how-to-choose/apple-trees-choose/  (many, apple info)

Fedco (ME, 207-873-7333)-- http://www.fedcoseeds.com (hardy, organic, heirloom)

G.W. Allen Nursery (Nova Scotia)-- http://www.gwallennursery.com/

Grandpa’s Orchard (MI, 877-800-0077)-- http://www.grandpasorchard.com (tree fruits)

Greenmantle Nursery (CA, 707-986-7504)-- http://www.greenmantlenursery.com (heirlooms, apple specialty)

Gurney’s Seed and Nursery (IN)-- http://gurneys.com

Hartmann’s Plant Co. (MI, 269-253-4281)-- https://hartmannsplantcompany.com/ (many unusual, berries)

Henry Fields Seed and Nursery (IN)-- http://henryfields.com

Henry Leuthardt Nurseries (NY, 631-878-1387)-- http://www.henryleuthardtnurseries.com/ (espaliered fruit)

Hidden Springs Nursery (TN, 931-268-2592)-- http://www.hiddenspringsnursery.com (many unusual, sustainable production)

Indiana Berry and Plant Co. (IN, 800-295-2226)-- https://indianaberry.com/

Isons Nursery (GA, 800-733-0324)-- http://www.isons.com/ (muscadines specialty)

Just Fruits and Exotics (FL, 850-926-5644)-- http://www.justfruitsandexotics.com

Mid-City Nursery (CA, 707-642-4167)-- http://www.midcitynursery.com (No. CA, winter shipping only)

Nature Hills Nursery (NE, 888-864-7663)-- http://www.naturehills.com

Norse Farms (MA, 413-665-2658)-- http://www.noursefarms.com

One Green World (OR, 877-353-4028)-- http://www.onegreenworld.com (many unusual fruits, cultivars)

Pense Nursery (AR, 479-369-2494)-- http://www.penseberryfarm.com/ (berries, grapes)

Raintree Nursery (WA)-- http://www.raintreenursery.com/ (many unusual fruits)

Rolling River Nursery (CA, 530-627-31200)-- http://www.rollingrivernursery.com (organic, fruits both temperate and tropical, nuts)

Saskatoon Farm (Alberta, 800-463-2113)-- http://www.saskatoonfarm.com/ (fruits, trees and shrubs for Canadian prairies)

Simmons Plant Farm (AR, 479-369-2345)-- http://www.simmonsplantfarm.com (berries)

Southmeadow Fruit Gardens (MI, 269-422-2411)-- http://www.southmeadowfruitgardens.com

Spring Hill Nurseries (OH)-- http://springhillnursery.com

St. Lawrence Nurseries (NY)-- http://www.stlawrencenurseries.com  (great for cold climates, comparison charts)

Stark Brothers (MO)-- http://www.starkbros.com

TyTy Nursery (GA, 229-388-9999)-- http://www.tytyga.com (nuts too)

Whitman Farms (OR, 503-585-8728)-- http://www.whitmanfarms.com (nuts, hard to find/unusual, mulberries)

Willis Orchard Co. (GA, 866-586-6283)-- http://www.willisorchards.com

Womack Nursery Co. (TX, 254-893-6497)-- http://www.womacknursery.com

Woodstock Nursery (WI, 888-803-8733)-- http://www.wallace-woodstock.com

 back to top

 

Specific fruit focus

 

Pests and Diseases

Bug Guide— http://bugguide.net/node/view/15740 (photo ID)

Pests in Fruits and Nuts-- http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/menu.homegarden.html (UC Davis, CA)

 

Apples

Sources

Big Horse Creek Farm (NC,  )-- http://www.bighorsecreekfarm.com (southern heirlooms)

 

Internet Resources

All About Apples-- http://usapple.org/all-about-apples/


 

Strawberries

Sources

Alpine strawberries (Fraises des bois)-- http://www.fraisesdesbois.com
Krohne Plant Farms (MI, 269-424-5423)-- http://www.krohneplantfarms.com/

Strawberry Tyme (Ontario, 519-426-3099)-- http://www.strawberrytyme.com

The Strawberry Store (alpine, heirloom;DE)— http://www.thestrawberrystore.com

 

Internet Resources

Preserving (UC Davis, CA)-- http://anrcatalog.ucdavis.edu/pdf/8256.pdf

California Strawberry commission— www.calstrawberry.com


 

Blueberries

Sources

Bluegrass Blueberries (KY, 270-432-5836)--http://www.bluegrassblueberries.com/

DeGrandchamp Farms (MI, 269-637-3915)— http://www.degrandchamps.com/ (also cranberries)

DiMeo Farms (NJ, 609-561-5905)-- http://www.dimeofarms.com/

Waters J9 Blueberry Farm (KY, 270-322-9222)-- http://www.watersj9blueberryfarm.com/

 

Internet Resources

Wild Blueberry Assn.-- http://www.wildblueberries.com/

University of Maine Wild Blueberries-- http://www.wildblueberries.maine.edu/

US Highbush Blueberry Council-- http://www.blueberry.org/

 

Brambles

Sources

Backyard Berry Plants (IN, 812-988-0579)-- http://backyardberryplants.com

Bramble Berry Farm (AR, 479-369-1705)-- http://www.alcasoft.com/winfrey/index.html

 

Internet Resources

Oregon berries-- http://www.oregon-berries.com/

 

Grapes

Sources

Double A Vineyards (NY, 716-672-8493)-- https://doubleavineyards.com/

Hermann J. Weimer Nursery (NY, 607-243-7971)-- http://www.wiemer.com/nursery/

Lon Rombough (OR, 503-678-1410)-- http://www.bunchgrapes.com (grape cuttings)

Northeast Vine Supply (VT, 802-287-9311)-- http://www.nevinesupply.com

Winterhaven Vineyard (MN, 507-234-5469)-- http://www.winterhavengrapevines.com (cold hardy)

 

 Resources

Cold Hardy Grapes (MN)-- http://www.grapes.umn.edu/

National Grape Registry-- http://ngr.ucdavis.edu/index.cfm (extensive cultivar listing)

  
 

Nuts

Sources

Grimo Nut Nursery (Ontario, 905-934-6887)-- http://www.grimonut.com

Nolin River Nut Tree Nursery (KY, 270-369-8551)-- http://www.nolinnursery.com/

Rhora’s Nut Farm and Nursery (ON, 905-899-3508)-- http://www.nuttrees.com (also some minor fruits)

 

Resources

Northern Nut Growers Assn.-- http://www.nutgrowing.org/

Pecan cultivars-- http://cgru.usda.gov/carya/pecans/cvintro.htm

   

Other fruits

Internet Resources

pawpaw--http://www.pawpaw.kysu.edu

California Rare Fruit Growers (amateur)-- http://www.crfg.org

Center for New Crops (Purdue, IN)-- http://www.hort.purdue.edu/newcrop/default.html

International Wild Huckleberry Assn.-- http://wildhuckleberry.com

California Kiwifruit Commission-- http://www.kiwifruit.org/

 

Sources

Gooseberries, currants:

McGinnis Berry Crops (British Columbia, 250-338-8200)-- http://www.berrycrops.net

Pawpaws:

Peterson Pawpaws (WV, 304-582-0852)-- http://www.petersonpawpaws.com

Oikos Tree crops (MI, 269-624-4019)-- http://www.oikostreecrops.com (edible natives, seed-propagated, less common)



 Supplies

(many sources also offer a limited selection of products and supplies; some wholesale suppliers also sell retail)

A.M. Leonard (OH, 800-543-8955)-- http://amleo.com/

All Season’s Homestead Helpers (VT, 800-649-9147)-- http://www.homesteadhelpers.com/  

Do My Own Pest Control (GA, 866-591-7378)-- http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/

Gemplers (WI, 800-382-8473)-- http://www.gemplers.com/

Hydro-Gardens (CO, 888-693-5845)-- http://www.hydro-gardens.com/

Mehu-Liisa juicer steamer (NY, 607-387-6716)-- http://www.juicer-steamer.com/
Midwest Vine Supply (IL, 217-864-9896)-- http://www.midwestvineyardsupply.com/

back to top