Home

Cultivar Lists

Links

 

 

HOME FRUIT GROWING: Links

 

The following were current as of October 2016, and are listed for informational and educational  purposes only.. This list is not meant to discriminate against those sites not mentioned nor endorse those mentioned.  If a website doesn’t work, try a search on the business name.  Often nurseries are excellent sources of information in addition to plants. There are many other sources such as complete garden stores; those below mainly specialize in or have a very large selection of fruit.  Don’t forget to check your own local nurseries. This is an expanded and updated list, with more than were able to be included in the printed book the Fruit Gardener's Bible, due to space limitations.

 

General fruit resources | Regional fruit resources | General fruit sources | Specific fruit focus | Supplies

 

General fruit internet resources

Chilling hours-- http://www.raintreenursery.com/Chill_Hours.html (general national map, discussion)

Fruitsinfo.com— http://www.fruitsinfo.com/

Home Orchard Society-- http://www.homeorchardsociety.org/

Hardiness zone map (USDA)-- http://www.usna.usda.gov/Hardzone/ushzmap.html

National Center for Home Food Preservation-- http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/

Northwest Berry and Grape Information Network-- http://berrygrape.org/ (mainly commercial, but some good home garden information)

Pacific Groves-- http://www.pacificgroves.com/ (wholesale nursery but good cultivar descriptions)

 

Regional fruit internet resources

Extension services, a complete listing-- https://nifa.usda.gov/partners-and-extension-map?state=All&type=Extension

Northeast—Cornell University-- http://www.fruit.cornell.edu/

Midwest—Purdue University-- https://www2.ag.purdue.edu/hla/Hort/Documents/mw_Home%20Fruit_pg_B940.pdf

Mid-Atlantic—Penn State University-- http://ssfruit.cas.psu.edu

Mid-Atlantic—Maryland Grapes and Fruits-- https://extension.umd.edu/smallfruit

South—Clemson (SC)-- http://www.clemson.edu/extension/hgic/plants/vegetables/small_fruits/

West—Oregon State University-- https://catalog.extension.oregonstate.edu/topic/gardening/fruits-and-nuts

California—University of California-- http://fruitsandnuts.ucdavis.edu/ (Fruits and Nuts Research and Information Center, statewide list of chilling hours)

back to top

 

General fruit sources

Many of these carry a wide selection of berries, trees, and minor fruits.

 

Aaron’s Nursery (GA, 888-652-7939)-- http://www.aaronsfarm.com

Adams County Nursery (PA, 717-677-8105)-- http://www.acnursery.com/ (fruit trees)

Bay Laurel Nursery (CA, 805-466-3406)-- http://www.baylaurelnursery.com/

Bottoms Nursery (GA, 770-884-5661)-- http://www.bottomsnursery.com (muscadines specialty)

Burgess Seed and Plant Co. (IL)-- http://www.eburgess.com

Burnt Ridge Nursery (WA, 360-985-0882)-- http://www.burntridgenursery.com

Chestnut Hill Tree Farm (FL, 386-462-2820)-- http://www.chestnuthilltreefarm.com (including low chill fruits, chestnuts)

Cloud Mountain Farm (WA, 360-966-5859)-- http://www.cloudmountainfarm.com/

Cummins Nursery (NY, 607-227-6147)-- http://www.cumminsnursery.com (fruit trees, unusual, custom grafting)

Daisy Farms (MI)-- http://www.daisyfarms.net (small fruits)

Edible Landscaping (VA, 800-524-4156)-- http://www.ediblelandscaping.com (many unusual)

England’s Orchard and Nursery (KY, 606-965-2228)-- http://www.nuttrees.net/ (fruit, nut trees)

Fedco (ME, 207-873-7333)-- http://www.fedcoseeds.com (hardy, organic, heirloom)

G.W. Allen Nursery (Nova Scotia)-- http://www.gwallennursery.com/

Grandpa’s Orchard (MI, 877-800-0077)-- http://www.grandpasorchard.com (tree fruits)

Greenmantle Nursery (CA, 707-986-7504)-- http://www.greenmantlenursery.com (heirlooms, apple specialty)

Gurney’s Seed and Nursery (IN)-- http://gurneys.com

Hartman’s Fruit Tree Nursery (WA, 253-848-1484)-- http://www.hartmannursery.com/

Hartmann’s Plant Co. (MI, 269-253-4281)-- http://www.hartmannsplantcompany.com/ (many unusual, berries)

Henry Fields Seed and Nursery (IN)-- http://henryfields.com

Henry Leuthardt Nurseries (NY, 631-878-1387)-- http://www.henryleuthardtnurseries.com/ (espaliered fruit)

Hidden Springs Nursery (TN, 931-268-2592)-- http://www.hiddenspringsnursery.com (many unusual, sustainable production)

Indiana Berry and Plant Co. (IN, 800-295-2226)-- https://indianaberry.com/

Isons Nursery (GA, 800-733-0324)-- http://www.isons.com/ (muscadines specialty)

Johnson Nursery (GA, 888-276-3187)-- http://www.johnsonnursery.com (many, also pecans)

Just Fruits and Exotics (FL, 850-926-5644)-- http://www.justfruitsandexotics.com

Mid-City Nursery (CA, 707-642-4167)-- http://www.midcitynursery.com (No. CA, winter shipping only)

Nature Hills Nursery (NE, 888-864-7663)-- http://www.naturehills.com

Norse Farms (MA, 413-665-2658)-- http://www.noursefarms.com

One Green World (OR, 877-353-4028)-- http://www.onegreenworld.com (many unusual fruits, cultivars)

Pense Nursery (AR, 479-369-2494)-- http://www.penseberryfarm.com/ (berries, grapes)

Raintree Nursery (WA)-- http://www.raintreenursery.com/ (many unusual fruits)

Rolling River Nursery (CA, 530-627-31200)-- http://www.rollingrivernursery.com (organic, fruits both temperate and tropical, nuts)

Saskatoon Farm (Alberta, 800-463-2113)-- http://www.saskatoonfarm.com/catalogue2.htm (fruits, trees and shrubs for Canadian prairies)

Simmons Plant Farm (AR, 479-369-2345)-- http://www.simmonsplantfarm.com (berries)

Southmeadow Fruit Gardens (MI, 269-422-2411)-- http://www.southmeadowfruitgardens.com

Spring Hill Nurseries (OH)-- http://springhillnursery.com

St. Lawrence Nurseries (NY)-- http://www.stlawrencenurseries.com (great for cold climates)

Stark Brothers (MO)-- http://www.starkbros.com

TyTy Nursery (GA, 229-388-9999)-- http://www.tytyga.com (nuts too)

Whitman Farms (OR, 503-585-8728)-- http://www.whitmanfarms.com (nuts, hard to find)

Willis Orchard Co. (GA, 866-586-6283)-- http://www.willisorchards.com

Womack Nursery Co. (TX, 254-893-6497)-- http://www.womacknursery.com

Woodstock Nursery (WI, 888-803-8733)-- http://www.wallace-woodstock.com

 back to top

 

Specific fruit focus

 

Pests and Diseases

Bug Guide— http://bugguide.net/node/view/15740 (photo ID)

Pests in Fruits and Nuts-- http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/menu.homegarden.html (UC Davis, CA)

 

Apples

Sources

Big Horse Creek Farm (NC,  )-- http://www.bighorsecreekfarm.com (southern heirlooms)

 

Internet Resources

All About Apples/Orange Pippin-- http://www.allaboutapples.com/index.htm

Apple and pear diseases:  http://www.fruit.cornell.edu/tfabp/

 

Strawberries

Sources

Krohne Plant Farms (MI, 269-424-5423)-- http://www.krohneplantfarms.com/

Strawberry Tyme (Ontario, 519-426-3099)-- http://www.strawberrytyme.com

he Strawberry Store (alpine, heirloom;DE)— http://www.thestrawberrystore.com

 

Internet Resources

Preserving (UC Davis, CA)-- http://anrcatalog.ucdavis.edu/pdf/8256.pdf

California Strawberry commission— www.calstrawberry.com

Alpine strawberries (Fraises des bois)-- http://www.fraisesdesbois.com

 

Blueberries

Sources

Bluegrass Blueberries (KY, 270-432-5836)--http://www.bluegrassblueberries.com/

DeGrandchamp Farms (MI, 269-637-3915)— http://www.degrandchamps.com/

DiMeo Farms (NJ, 609-561-5905)-- http://www.dimeofarms.com/

Jericho Croft Farm and Nursery (KY, 270-908-0703)-- http://www.blueberrycroft.com

Waters J9 Blueberry Farm (KY, 270-322-9222)-- http://www.watersj9blueberryfarm.com/

 

Internet Resources

Wild Blueberry Assn.-- http://www.wildblueberries.com/

University of Maine Wild Blueberries-- http://www.wildblueberries.maine.edu/

US Highbush Blueberry Council-- http://www.blueberry.org/

 

Brambles

Sources

Backyard Berry Plants (IN, 812-988-0579)-- http://backyardberryplants.com

Bramble Berry Farm (AR, 479-369-1705)-- http://www.alcasoft.com/winfrey/index.html

 

Internet Resources

Oregon berries-- http://www.oregon-berries.com/

 

Grapes

Sources

Double A Vineyards (NY, 716-672-8493)-- https://doubleavineyards.com/

Hermann J. Weimer Nursery (NY, 607-243-7971)-- http://www.wiemer.com/nursery/

Lon Rombough (OR, 503-678-1410)-- http://www.bunchgrapes.com (grape cuttings)

Northeast Vine Supply (VT, 802-287-9311)-- http://www.nevinesupply.com

Penoach Nursery (IA, 515-993-4374)-- http://www.penoach.com/nursery (cold hardy, MN cultivars)

Winterhaven Vineyard (MN, 507-234-5469)-- http://www.winterhavengrapevines.com

 

 Resources

Cold Hardy Grapes (MN)-- http://www.grapes.umn.edu/

National Grape Registry-- http://ngr.ucdavis.edu/index.cfm (extensive cultivar listing)

Integrated Viticulture Online (Univ. CA)-- http://iv.ucdavis.edu/

Know About Grapes-- https://www.serenataflowers.com/pollennation/everything-ever-wanted-know-grapes/

   

Nuts

Sources

Grimo Nut Nursery (Ontario, 905-934-6887)-- http://www.grimonut.com

Nolin River Nut Tree Nursery (KY, 270-369-8551)-- http://www.nolinnursery.com/

Rhora’s Nut Farm and Nursery (ON, 905-899-3508)-- http://www.nuttrees.com (also some minor fruits)

 

Resources

Northern Nut Growers Assn.-- http://www.nutgrowing.org/

Pecan cultivars-- http://cgru.usda.gov/carya/pecans/cvintro.htm

   

Other fruits

Internet Resources

pawpaw--http://www.pawpaw.kysu.edu

California Rare Fruit Growers (amateur)-- http://www.crfg.org

Center for New Crops (Purdue, IN)-- http://www.hort.purdue.edu/newcrop/default.html

International Wild Huckleberry Assn.-- http://wildhuckleberry.com

California Kiwifruit Commission-- http://www.kiwifruit.org/

 

Sources

Gooseberries, currants:

McGinnis Berry Crops (British Columbia, 250-338-8200)-- http://www.berrycrops.net

Pawpaws:

Peterson Pawpaws (WV, 304-582-0852)-- http://www.petersonpawpaws.com

Oikos Tree crops (MI, 269-624-4019)-- http://www.oikostreecrops.com (edible natives, seed-propagated, less common)

Tripple Brook Farm (MA, 413-527-4626)-- http://www.tripplebrookfarm.com (less common)

back to top


 Supplies

(many sources also offer a limited selection of products and supplies; some wholesale suppliers also sell retail)

A.M. Leonard (OH, 800-543-8955)-- http://amleo.com/

All Season’s Homestead Helpers (VT, 800-649-9147)-- http://www.homesteadhelpers.com/  

Do My Own Pest Control (GA, 866-591-7378)-- http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/

Gemplers (WI, 800-382-8473)-- http://www.gemplers.com/

Hydro-Gardens (CO, 888-693-5845)-- http://www.hydro-gardens.com/

Mehu-Liisa juicer steamer (NY, 607-387-6716)-- http://www.juicer-steamer.com/

Midwest Vine Supply (IL, 217-864-9896)-- http://www.midwestvineyardsupply.com/

back to top